Aubrac, Le Chemin du Puy

Aubrac, Le Chemin du Puy

The Aubrac region of France is situated in the southern Massif Central, on the Chemin du Puy, Camino de Santiago. It straddles three départements – Cantal, Aveyron and Lozère – and three régions – Auvergne, Midi-Pyrénées and Languedoc-Roussillon.

This region is a volcanic and granitic plateau (1 500 km²). The volcanic eruptions are dated from 6 to 9 millions of years and were of Hawaiian type with fluid lavas. Therefore, there are no individualized volcanos. This volcanic zone dominates on the east another part of the plateau which is made of granite.

The average altitude of the plateau is about 1200 meters with its highest point at 1469 m (Signal de Mailhebiau) in the south. All of the region has been eroded by glaciers during three glacial periods. The region counts four glacial lakes : lac des Salhiens, lac de Saint-Andéol, lac de Souveyrols and lac de Born. In the south, the highest summits of the Aubrac dominate the Lot valley, which is located 1000 m below.

If you would like to learn more about our routes, please don’t hesitate to contact us. If you already know which route you would like to walk, you can customise your trip with our Camino Planner.

Leave a Comment

Join Our Newsletter

Plan your CaminoPlan
Scroll to Top