get quote Contact Us

ARLES WAY – Chemin d’Arles

Arles Way

The Arles Way (GR 653), Chemin d’Arles or Voie d’Arles in French or Via Tolosana in Latin #viatolosana, was the route traditionally used by pilgrims from Italy and the South of France on their way to Santiago de Compostela. Although the traditional starting point is Arles in Provence, our first section departs from the lively city of Montpellier, in Languedoc. This Camino route takes pilgrims from the Languedoc region in Sourthern France to Spain, joining the Camino Aragonés at Somport and the French Way at Puente de la Reina. Along the Arles Way, you will be enchanted by stunning landscapes, rich heritage and culture, as well as delicious food: the vineyards of Languedoc, the Canal du Midi and the breath taking Pyrenees are some of this route’s highlights. Along the Arles Way you will also discover towns and villages of outstanding beauty such as St Guilhem le Desert, Castres, Toulouse, Auch and Oloron Sainte Marie. Read more Arles Way Camino articles on our blog.

Please see below for our suggested itineraries. You can select the Arles Way to customise your route (start point, finish point and options that you would like to have). You can walk or cycle any of our ways.

Read More

Arles-Way-Mountain-CaminoThe Arles Way from France connects with the Aragonese Way at Somport and with the French Way at Puente de la Reina. The Aragonese route encompasses approximately 170 km (100 miles) and travels through a variety of landscapes, from mountains to river valleys; for the most part it follows the River Aragón. The Arles, known as the Chemin d’Arles in France is also called ” Via Tolosana ” or ” Route de Provence “. This path called Via Tolosana by Aymeric Picaud the author of the first pilgrim guide in the twelfth century .

Throughout this route you will discover stunning towns and villages, picturesque canals, breathtaking mountain ranges and some historic treasures from the 12th to the 16th century.

On your journey you will pass by the beautiful cities of Saint Gilles Vauvert, Castries, Montpellier, Saint Guilhem le Desert to join Lodeve, the Bousquet d’Orb, Murat sur Vèbre, Salvetat sur Agout, Anglès the Rialet, Castres, Dourgne, Revel then plunges south to branch off northwest to 90 °, near Airoux and join Toulouse by Pechbusque Pouvourville and, after crossing the “pink city” route then passes through and then along Coulomiers through a portion of the Bouconne forest before joining the Isle-Jourdain, Auch, Ordan-Larroque, Montesquiou, Tillac, Maubourguet, Morlaàs, Lescar, Pau, Oloron Sainte Marie, Saint-Christau Lurbe to climb rapidly to Sarrance Accous, Cette-Eygun, up to 1631 meters of Urdos Somport pass.

Unesco has classified 71 buildings on French roads in the World Heritage.

  • Self-Guided

Arles Way on the Canal du Midi

7 Nights - Castres to Toulouse

Arles Way - Full Walk - Puente-de-la-reina -

Arles Way

Up to 34 Nights - Montpellier to Puente de la Reina